Huawei Y7 Pro 2019: Nepal Reviews

0

Huawei recently has been on a roll! They have been launching amazing smartphones back to back. Among the slew of launches, the Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 is one of them. The phone is the follow up to last year’s Y7 Pro. It brings a slew of improvements over its predecessor including a revamped design. So is the phone worth the asking price of Rs 18,490? Is it the best mid-tier smartphone that you can buy right now? Well, let us find out in this full review.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 Nepal Reviews

Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 Nepal Reviews

A quick disclaimer! Before we get into the review I would like to mention that I have been using the Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 for almost three weeks now. Unlike other reviews, this one is going to be purely based on my experience and how the device held-up in the above-mentioned time span. So, without wasting your time any further, let’s get started!

Multi-media Experience 

The Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 is a capable multi-media device! It packs a 6.26-inches HD (720 x 1520 pixels) IPS display, with a 19:9 aspect ratio. The notch makes an appearance, residing in the top center of the display. This design change is a welcomed overhaul from its last year’s offering.

Getting into the nitty-gritty, the media-consuming experience on the Y7 Pro 2019 has been amazing. Lately, I have been binging on the latest episodes of ‘The Rookie’ and caught up the first episode of ‘Game of Thrones’ season 8. During this escapade, the phone has been a perfect companion. This has largely to do with the size and vibrant colors of the display. Although just 720p, the panel is absolutely great for media consumption.

The speaker that the Y7 Pro 2019 packs are not bad either! It is good enough for day-to-day media consumption and gameplay. Speaking of which, playing games on the phone has been a decent experience. It can easily run lower titles such as Subway Surfer and Temple Run 2 but lags a bit with the more graphic-intensive games. Needless to say, playing PUBG on this phone will be a bit difficult. You might want to turn down the settings for that!

Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 Nepal Reviews

Photography Experience

The Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 has a new dual-rear camera set up at the back. It is made by a primary f/1.8 13MP and a secondary 2MP depth sensor. This combo makes for quite a photography experience. The two sensors work in conjunction to produce some amazing pictures. Photos taken from the camera are eye-catching with great details, depth, and vibrancy.

That said, I do feel that the images are a bit soft especially in low light situations. Speaking of which, the overall image quality is a bit low in less than optimal lighting conditions. The images, however, can be somewhat improved using the onboard AI technology. Yes, the Y7 Pro 2019 comes with AI integrated into the cameras. This help the phone take better images even under the harshest of conditions. The AI also helps take optimized photos as per the scene at hand. A great feature to have!

The phone also flaunts an f/2.2 16MP front camera for all your social media ready selfies. Just like its counterpart, the front camera takes some great selfies during the daylight but the quality a bit low in night time shots. To make up for that, Huawei has packed in a front LED flash which does help somewhat improve the images. Overall, the cameras on the Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 are great especially considering its price.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 Nepal Reviews

Day-to-day experience

The Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 is a gorgeous looking device. Although made from plastic, the phone has some premium element to it. For one, the glossy finish at the back makes it look more like glass. It also comes with a gradient finish that adds an extra oomph in the design department.

Talking about the performance, the phone was easily able to handle my day-to-day needs. This is all thanks to the included Qualcomm SDM450 Snapdragon 450 processor backed by 3GB of RAM. The phone also comes with an Adreno 506 for better graphics performance. These combinations make up for quite a performer! That said, I do wish that Huawei had included a better processor with the phone. An in-house Kirin processor would have done wonders.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 Nepal Reviews

One feature worth talking about is the inclusion of the Fingerprint Scanner or a lack thereof. The phone, sadly, this time also has omitted the digit sensor. Luckily, the phone for the iteration of Y7 Pro has brought in the Face Unlock. And let me tell you, it works like a charm. I didn’t miss the fingerprint scanner all that much!

Also Read – Huawei Y7 Pro 2019: Top 5 Features

And finally, booming the day-to-day usage is the inclusion of a large 4000mAh non-user removable battery. This is a great inclusion for a phone at this price range. I got around 5-6 hours worth of battery life on a single charge with the device. Needlessly to say, the phone will get casual users 2 days worth of usage without any problem.

The large battery coupled with the optimized performance and HD display of the Y7 Pro 2019 makes up for prolonged battery life. And adding to that, the device also comes with Fast Battery Charger out of the box. Overall, having this large of a battery on a phone at this budget is a sweet-sweet offer.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 Nepal Reviews

Software Experience

The Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 runs EMUI 8.2 based on Android 8.1 Oreo. The inclusion of a custom skin brings a lot of features to the phone. Things like the customizable navigation buttons, game suit, split-screen multitasking, and app lock came in handy at times. The user interface on the device is also clean, minimalistic, and very responsive. One small pet peeve with the UI for me is the icon design. Thankfully, Huawei has included theming capabilities with the device. I was easily able to customize the icons to my heart’s content. A nifty little feature to have!

Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 Nepal Reviews: Verdict

The Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 is a great smartphone that focuses largely on its design and dual-camera setup. And I can see just why! The phone looks absolutely amazing with its glossy gradient design. And the pictures from its cameras are some of the best I have seen at this price range.

Not only the design and cameras but the phone packs a complete package with a notched display, feature-packed software, great battery life and much more. There, however, are some shortcomings like the lack of a USB Type-C port and a digit sensor. Even though personally I didn’t miss the fingerprint scanner, many might argue otherwise.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 Nepal Reviews

That said, the phone still packs a punch for what it is worth. For anyone looking for a great multi-media device which can take some mind-boggling pictures while looking gorgeous, then the Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 is a great option.

Thank you for reading! For more on the Huawei Y7 Pro 2019 Nepal Reviews, like our Facebook page and subscribe to our Youtube channel. If you have any questions or confusions, please feel free to ask them in the comments section down below. We will answer them as soon as possible.

REVIEW OVERVIEW
Multi-media Experience
Photography Experience
Day-to-day Experience
Software Experience
Samrat is a tech enthusiast who loves writing and making technical videos about smartphones. He also is a writer at Business 360 Magazine.